

June 2013 Volume 10 Issue 6

INSIDE THIS ISSUE

- President's Message
- Honors & Awards Banquet 2
- Honors & Awards Banquet Cont' 3



Thanks to our President, Amy Brown (left) presented by Arlene Roberts (right) For her four year term, 2009-2013 and her sincere dedication to the chapter!

President's Message Amy Brown, CGMP



President's Message

It has been a pleasure serving as your President over the last four years. I will continue on the board as Immediate Past President with as much energy and enthusiasm as I have had during my term as President. I want to thank everyone who has served on the board with me for their dedication and commitment to the chapter and the goals we have set. I know we will continue to move forward and achieve the chapter's goals.

I know that Chris Schuh will do a great job in her new role as the chapter's President, and I welcome her into her new role with my complete support.

Remember SGMP is here to serve you, so "Connect to Government meetings - Plug into SGMP"!

Please do not hesitate to e-mail me Amy.Brown@freshfromflorida.com_or call me (850) 617-7510 during this transition period if you have guestions or concerns.

Honors & Awards Recipients

Thank you to everyone who sent their nomination in for honoring a fellow member. Everyone had a great time at the Honors & Awards Banquet. Our 2013 recipients are as Special Recognition awarded to George Nero, follows: Heather Brown, Cherryl Faulk, Gabrielle Gabrielli, Jennifer Anderson, Patty Ball Thomas, Jennifer Coto, and Arlene Roberts; Stellar Award to Gloria Marion-Smith, Planner of The Year to Chris Schuh, Supplier of The Year to Wendy Priesand, Member's Choice to Claire Smith, and the President's Award to Janet Roach. Congratulations to our recipients and for all the hard work they submit to through the year. Their sincere dedication and commitment are valued and appreciated.



resident's Award – Janet Roach (left) Presented by Amy Brown (right)

Page 2

Capital Event

Honors & Awards, Cont' Jennifer Coto and John Read presenting to recipients





Chris Schuh, Planner of The Year





Claire Smith, Member's Choice



Special Recognition (left to right) Arlene Roberts, Heather Brown, Cherryl Faulk, Jennifer Anderson, Jennifer Coto, Gabrielle Gabrielli, George Nero

Thank you to our sponsors for the evening; Linda McMahon, Daytona Beach CVB; Greg Foster, Plaza Ocean Club; Wendy Priesand, Shores Resort & Spa; Mary Jo Ortiz, Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, and Marsha Black, Daytona Beach Resort & Conference Center. Your support to the chapter is greatly appreciated.



Capital Event

Page 3

SGMP Board

Amy Brown President

Ellen Sliger, CGMP Immediate Past President

> Chris Schuh First VP

Janet Roach, CGMP Second VP

> Buenita Lee Secretary

Karen Lambert Treasurer

Directors: Retha Nero, CGMP John Read Lydia Southwell

Monthly Board Meetings

The Board meets the same day and place as the membership meeting beginning at 4:30 pm. Members are welcome to attend, and minutes are available upon request.

Membership Report

May Report 57.6% Planners 42.4% Suppliers Planners – 57 Suppliers – 42

Looking Ahead

SREC August 25-28, 2013 Nashville, TN

National Conference 2014 Portland, OR 2015 Minneapolis, MN



Installation of Officers, 2013-2015 (left to right) with Merle Manzi (left) performing the Oath of Office; Chris Schuh, President; Ellen Sliger, First Vice President; Janet Roach, Second Vice President; Cherryl Faulk, Secretary; Karen Lambert, Treasurer; Gabrielle Gabrielli, Planner Director; Lydia Southwell, Planner Director, and Amy Brown, Immediate Past President.

Congratulations to our newly appointed Board of Directors.

Thank you to our past presidents with us tonight (left to right) Merle Manzi 1993-1995, Arlene Roberts 2003-2008, Barbara Ann Cox 1991-1993, Ellen Sliger 2008-2009, Allen Stucks 1999-2001



If anyone is interested in sponsoring the December 17 Holiday Event, please contact our sponsorship chair, Arlene Roberts at <u>arlene.roberts@fldoe.org</u>

Committee Chairs

Community Service, Gloria Marion-Smith; Honors & Awards, Jennifer Coto; Membership, Cherryl Faulk; National Conference, Amy Brown; Programs, Jennifer Anderson; Publications, Arlene Roberts; Special Events, Patty Ball Thomas; Sponsorship, Arlene Roberts; Marketing, Gabrielle Gabrielli, PhD

Honors & Awards Cont'